What are Workspaces?

A Workspace stores the following Objects:
Alerts
Grid Layouts
– Window Position
– Visual Factory Settings
– Toolbar Configurations

Workspaces can be found in PlanetTogether to the left side of the HOME screen…
works.001


How do I create and/or share a Workspace?

Workspaces are created by copying a previously created Workspace and giving it a different name. Out of the box, PlanetTogether ships with a Workspace called “Default”. From the Workspace area you can Copy, Share, Rename and Delete your Workspaces.

work2.001


How do I switch Workspaces?

To Load or Switch to a Workspace you can simply double click it. You’ll see your active Workspace in the top left part of the Home Screen. Alternatively you can switch Workspaces from the Quick Access Toolbar.

toolbar.001


How do Workspaces sync?

Workspaces are shared between the Server and Client computers so that a User can login to PlanetTogether using different computers and still access their previously saved Workspace. We will explain how that file transfer occurs.

dataflow

Syncing of Workspaces between the Server and Client are controlled by the Client Updater Service. Files that the Client Updater Service syncs can be controlled by the configuration file located on the Server here…

C:\ProgramData\PlanetTogether APS\INSTANCE_NAME\ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles.Config

You’ll notice that by default the following folders are being synced between the Server and Client…


...ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\UICustomizations
...ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\Localization\TextOverrides
...ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\Reports\CustomReports
...ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\UserSettings

Workspaces are stored in the UserSettings folder.

On the Server the UserSettings folder is located here…

C:\ProgramData\PlanetTogether APS\INSTANCE_NAME\ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\UserSettings

and here on the Client computer…

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\PlanetTogether, Inc\Clients\VERSION\UserSettings

The timing of the ClientUpdater Services works like this…
When the Client is exited properly it pushes all files located in the UserSettings folder on the Client computer to the Server Computer. Then, when the Client is started it pulls all files located in the UserSettings folder on the Server computer to the Client computer.

Workspace Files are stored per UserID in the UserSettings folder, unless the Workspace is a Shared Workspace. Shared Workspaces will appear in the Shared folder within the UserSettings folder and are available to all Users.

It is important to note that Workspaces will not be saved entirely until the PlanetTogether APS on the client computer is properly exited. This becomes important if you want to manually move Workspace files. You should only move Workspace files to the Server when ALL clients are closed.


Can I create custom tabs per Workspace?

Yes, you can create and load custom HTML per Workspace. All Custom HTML should be placed here…

C:\ProgramData\PlanetTogether APS\INSTANCE_NAME\ClientUpdaterService\UpdateFiles\UserSettings\UserID (or Shared)\Workspace\WorkspaceName\InfoPage.html